St. Elmo seniors soar into next chapter

St. Elmo High School seniors, donning navy blue caps and gowns, received diplomas before a gymnasium full of family and friends at the annual graduation ceremony on Saturday, May 20.

Class co-valedictorians Jordan Fedrigon and Sydney Moss, who was also named Senior of the Year, addressed the class in a joint speech. Salutatorian Tessa Philpot also gave an address.

Several scholarships were awarded, as follows:

A video montage, featuring photographs of the graduates, was shown.

Students of the Month award winners for the class were Alex Aderman, Abagail Durbin, Jordan Fredrigon, Dawson Hand, Sydney Moss, Caitlynn Phillips, Tessa Philpot, Bo Sapp, and Kearstin Scoles.

Alex Aderman won the Melody Davis Scholarship and the Daughters of the American Revolution award, Jordan Fedrigon, Colten Miller, and Tessa Philpot received Lake Land Presidential Scholarships, Kearstin Scoles was awarded the Lucas Chandler Memorial Scholarship, and Bo Sapp won the Sons of the American Revolution award. Sydney Moss was named an Illinois State Scholar.

Music for the event was provided by Laura Somodi, along with a performance of “Happiness” by a mixed student chorus.

Leave a Comment